AFCON Africa Sports Local Sports Other Local News

I wish you a very big victory in your opening match–Speaker Kadaga to Uganda Cranes

In a special message to the national, the speaker of Parliament Rt Hon. Rebecca Alitwala Kadaga has wished the Uganda Cranes “a big victory in their opening match” in the 2019 Total Africa Cup on Nationals finals.

Uganda will entertain DR Congo in their first game of the continental tournament on Saturday 22nd at Cairo International Stadium.

“ON behalf of the Uganda parliament, I would want to wish Captain Dennis Onyango and the rest of the Uganda cranes all the best. I wish you a very big victory in your opening match (against Democratic Republic of Congo) on Saturday,” Speaker of Parliament, Rebecca Alitwala Kadaga noted.

The speaker also assured the team of the parliament’s support with several members of the house expected to travel to Egypt for the showpiece.

“A number of members of parliament will be in Egypt to give you support. We love you and we are counting on to bring the glory back home.”

During the 2017 edition of the continental competition, parliamentarians contributed at least half a million shillings each in support of the Cranes.

In total, the house made a financial contribution of UGX. 224,500,000/= as their token of motivation and appreciation to the national team.

Uganda Cranes Group A matches at AFCON 2019:

Saturday, 22nd June: DR Congo Vs Uganda Cranes – Cairo International Stadium (3:30 PM)

Wednesday, 26th June: Uganda Cranes Vs Zimbabwe – Cairo International Stadium (8:00 PM)

Sunday, 30th June: Uganda Cranes Vs Egypt Pharoahs – Cairo International Stadium (10 PM)

Uganda Cranes Delegation in Egypt:

Players (23 man Team):

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal-Sudan), Robert Odongkara (Adama City, Ethiopia)

Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Brian Ronald Ddungu Mukiibi (Ostersunds, Sweden), Murushid Jjuuko (Simba, Tanzania), Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town, England), Isaac Muleme (FK Viktoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Un attached), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Timothy Denis Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda), Godfrey Walusimbi (Un-attached)

Midfielders:  Mike Azira (Montreal Impact, Canada), Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg, South Africa), William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India), Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica, Croatia), Abdul Lumala (Syrianska, Sweden), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda)

Strikers: Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC Uganda), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Simba, Tanzania)


Leader of Delegation: Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi

FUFA President: Moses Magogo

Executive Committee Members: Issa Magola, Hamid Juma, Abdul Ssekabira, Rogers Byamukama

Head coach: Sebastien Desabre

Assistant coach: Mathias Lule

Goalkeeper coach: Fred Kajoba

Team Doctor: Dr. Ronald Kisolo

Physiotherapist: Dr. Ivan Ssewanyana

Team Chiropractor: Dr. Charles Sebwana

Media: Ahmed Hussein

Physical Fitness trainer: Gerome D’Antonio

Kit Managers: Lawrence Kizito and Ayub Balyejusa

Finance Director: Decolas Kiiza

Related posts

Moses Waiswa to miss AFCON due to injury

Robert K James

Allan Kayiwa joins Vipers SC

Robert K James

Wasswa Bbosa commits future to Tooro United FC

Robert K James

Leave a Comment uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're okay with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy