10-man KCCA FC Clinch Record 10th Uganda Cup Title

In front of a mammoth crowd, Kampala Capital City Authority Football Club (KCCA FC) were crowned the 2017/18 Uganda champions.

The Mike Mutebi-coached side pipped league rivals Vipers Sports Club by 1-0 to clinch their record 10th Uganda Cup title.

Youngster Julius Poloto who also doubles as the skipper for the U-20 national side, the Hippos scored the only goal of the game in the 42nd minute at Emokori Play Ground in Bukedea District.

In the second stanza of the game, the Kasasiro Boys had to play with a man less after midfield star Ibrahim Sadam Juma was given marching orders by center referee Brain Miiro Nsubuga for two bookable offences.

Despite being down to ten men, the Yellow boys where resilient enough to fend off persistent attacks from the Venoms to eventually end the game 1-0.

KCCA’s Allan Okello was voted as the tournament’s MVP (Most Valuable Player) and was awarded his accolade by Hakim Magumba and Charles Lukwago off KCCA was voted the best goalkeeper before being handed his honor by Uganda Cranes captain Denis Masinde Onyango.

Former Maroons FC forward and KCCA striker Patrick Kaddu was the top scorer with a tally of 7 goals, walking away with a Hi-Sense Television set that was handed to him by former Uganda Cranes striker Alex Isabirye Magoola and current star Emmanuel Okwi.  

Team Lineups:

Vipers Sports Club XI: Isma Watenga (G.K),  Geofrey Wasswa, Yayo Lutimba, Halid Lwaliwa, Bashir Asiku, Tadeo Lwanga, Milton Karisa, Moses Waiswa, Erisa Ssekisambu, Dan Sserunkuma, Duncan Sseninde

Subs: James Alitho (G.K), Ashraf Mandela, Steven Mukwala,  Tom Masiko, Brian Nkuubi, Pius Wangi, Frank “Zagga” Tumwesigye

KCCA XI: Charles Lukwago (G.K), Fillbert Obenchan, Habibu Kavuma,Timothy Dennis Awany, Paul Musamali, Isaac Kirabira, Sadam Ibrahim Juma, Jackson Nunda, Julius Poloto, Allan Okello, Patrick Kaddu

Subs: Tom Ikara (G.K), Jamil Malyamungu (G.K), Denis Okot Oola, Eric Ssenjobe, Solomon Okwalinga, Paul Mucureezi, Ibrahim Wannamah


Best Goalkeeper: Charles Lukwago (KCCA)

Top Scorer: Patrick Kaddu (KCCA) – 6 Goals

MVP: Allan Okello (KCCA)

Cash Prizes:


Runners Up: 20M

Semifinalists- 10M each team

Q/finalists: 5M each team

Total cash Prize: 90M 

Photo credit: FUFA Media 

Go to top