HomeAfricaOther NewsCoach Basena summons Cranes squad to take on Congo Brazzaville

Coach Basena summons Cranes squad to take on Congo Brazzaville

As the Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) continues to receive applications for the national football team job, interim coach Moses Basena has summoned a Uganda Cranes squad to face off with Congo Brazzaville come next month.

Uganda is slated to face off with Congo Brazzaville in their final Group E game of the 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers on November 12th 2017.

Basena named the 32-man squad on Wednesday during a weekly press conference at the FUFA house in Mengo, Kampala. While addressing the media, Basena, who recently lost his job with Uganda Premier League side UPDF Football Club after registering poor results said;

“We shall use the match to fine tune players for forthcoming international fixtures for the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup, CHAN in Morocco and the 2019 Nations Cup Qualifiers. The door is not closed for other players.”

Despite Egypt having scooped the only Group E slot to 2018 Russia FIFA World Cup, Basena say that it’s important for his side to finish on a high.

“We want to finish on a high in this campaign as positive results create a good attitude from the players and within the camp,” Basena added.

The squad summoned is largely dominated by players from the Azam Uganda Premier League with only 8 foreign based players. Meanwhile, training is scheduled to start on 1st November, 2017 4:00 PM at Mandela National Stadium.

Here is the Squad:

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango, Isma Watenga, Ochan Benjamin, Ikara Thomas

Outfield players: Wadada Nicholas, Nsubuga Joseph, Muleme Isaac, Walusimbi Godfrey, Iguma Denis, Isaac Isinde, Jjuko Murushid, Kabugo Savio, Kiyemba Ibrahim, Awanyi Timothy, Muwanga Bernard, Hassan Wasswa, Masiko Tom, Shafiq Kagimu, Gardinho Ghadafi, Mutyaba Muzamiru, Mucuurezi Paul, Waisswa Moses, Owori David, Kyambadde Allan, Mugisa Albert, Kaweesa Hood, Ddumba Sadala, Okwi Emmanuel, Serunkuma Geofrey, Senkatuka Nelson, Karisa Milton, Nsibambi Derick.

Go to top